My readers will indulge me a brief interruption of my theatre reviewing to update them on a horrific new discovery about brown marmorated stink bugs.

This past Monday, Labor Day, I was laboring in my garden, weeding, harvesting, cleaning up, etc., when by chance I overturned one of the bazillion leaves in our thriving bean patch and discovered a strange bundle of just-hatched insect eggs.  I had my suspicions about what they were, and a quick internets search confirmed my fears:  they were newly hatched nymphs of the dreaded stink bug.  I didn’t take a photo at the time, but they looked EXACTLY like this:

(photo courtesy of http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/creatures/veg/bean/BMSB_01.htm)

I sealed the leaf in a ziploc bag to show to the rest of the household and then forgot about it.  It sat outside in the very hot sun (we’ve had 86 plus degree weather this past week) and I didn’t think too much about it.  Today, five days later, I was out in the garden picking tomatoes…

…yeah, that’s about 10 pounds of tomatoes there…anyway, I happened to notice that the ziploc had blown onto the deck, I picked it up, and lo and behold!  THEY’RE STILL ALIVE!!!  (I couldn’t get a good video with our lousy little camera, so you’ll just have to take my word for it).

So, not only are they creepy, stinky, and destructive…but they’re also practically immortal.

Yick.

