Tags

, ,

It’s been a while since I posted about theater – that’s cuz there hasn’t been all that much happening in town (at least, not much that I’ve been invited to!) Gypsy is opening this weekend at CLO, but, alas, I will miss it because of travel. As I look at my calendar I see several other things coming up – if you’re reading this, and in Pittsburgh this summer, put them on your calendar, too!

Next weekend, PICT Classic Theatre is opening Sharon’s Grave, by Irish playwright John B. Keane. It’s a play I’m not familiar with, but the publicity materials promise “a great Irish yarn about love, legends, and the land.” It will run July 16 – August 1.

Also next weekend – and next weekend only! – a new company called Lamplighter Productions will be bringing to the Maker Theater on Ellsworth in Shadyside their original, collaboratively created work How to be a GoodPerson(TM), a “radically inclusive” theater piece that explores the question of how to distinguish the genuine and important from the artificial and trivial in a world filled with information “noise.” This theater company has adopted the ethos of radical hospitality innovated by Mixed Blood Theatre of Minneapolis: tickets to this production are free of charge, but reservations are necessary. I should add, in the spirit of full disclosure, that two of the collaborators on this production are current students at the CMU School of Drama (Jordan Sucher & Vanessa Frank). They are mounting short runs here in Pittsburgh & in New York this summer.

Also coming up: Front Porth Theatrical’s Light in the Piazza, opening the weekend of August 21, and Quantum Theatre’s baroque opera interpretation of The Winter’s Taleproduced in collaboration with Chatham Baroque and Attack Theatre and opening September 21.

Is there something else I ought to have on my calendar this summer? Let me know…I’m streaming way too many movies on Netflix lately!!